Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Whitepages | Glassdoor.ch

Bewertungen für Whitepages

Aktualisiert am 29. Aug 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

123 Bewertungen gefunden

4.2
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
77%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
100%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Whitepages CEO Leigh McMillan (no image)
Leigh McMillan
5 Bewertungen
  1. „Healthy work environment & culture”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Marketing Manager 
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Whitepages als Vollzeit

    Pros

    I've worked at Whitepages close to a year now, and I can honestly say that it is the healthiest work environment I've ever been a part of. Although the company is relatively small, and there's a lot to get done, leadership promotes healthy work/life balance, and understands that not everything can be done at once. For a team of this size, Whitepages has a lot of incredibly talented folks. The company as a whole is is full of collaborative, fun people, and it's apparent that we all genuinely enjoy working together. The diversity here is unlike anything I've ever seen for a company this size. Whitepages leadership/recruiting doesn't just talk the talk - they actually walk the walk when it comes to recruiting/hiring people from all different walks of life. It's very refreshing. For a not-so-sexy product, I've thoroughly enjoyed a lot of the projects I've worked on (more so than I expected, to be honest). Every employee is encouraged to take ownership of their projects, get creative, and push back when they feel strongly about something. There's a lot of transparency within the company. It's easy to see how your work impacts the business. The company pays competitively and offers a lot of perks (free snacks, drinks, HH, Friday lunches, good insurance, solid bonus structure, etc.) Whitepages genuinely values their employees. Leadership cares about every person here not only as an employee, but as a person. They make that apparent in how they handle career development & personal goals, health/benefits, etc.

    Kontras

    Data aggregation isn't sexy, plain and simple. It takes a little bit of time to get used to people giving you a funny look when you tell them you work at Whitepages. However for most, that's easy to move beyond. Small company = lots of hats to wear. Every employee is expected to juggle a wide array of projects and tasks, and it can become overwhelming at times. Thankfully, leadership is aware of this, and they make a point to promote an open door policy so that you can speak up if you're feeling swamped. Resources can be scarce, and it can be tough to get things done quickly. This is something leadership is aware of, but it's an obvious pain point that the company is still working through.

    Whitepages2019-08-29
  2. „Great place to grow!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Designer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Whitepages (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Whitepages is a great place if you're looking to make a direct impact with your work and grow your career. We have a great new group of leadership who encourage and empower us to pursue new opportunities in our respective fields. - I don't feel the need to tiptoe or beat around the bush with my manager, we are very direct and open. My manager also treats me like a person, not just an employee. They are very understanding that life happens and the work/life balance is the best I've ever seen at a company. - Whitepages doesn't stand still or become complacent. We are always looking forward and it continues to be an exciting place to work. - The overall culture feels more like family/good pals versus co-workers. Employees go out to lunch together, happy hour, etc. Everyone is just so friendly and welcoming. - We have the most diverse group of employees, especially for such a small bunch. - There are a lot of the typical tech company perks such as snacks, lots of drink options, events, happy hours, lunches, stand-up desks, etc.

    Kontras

    I completely understand the pros of hiring new grads, but we need some more mid/manager level engineers to mentor these youngins.

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-30
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Whitepages”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Site Reliability Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Whitepages (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have been with Whitepages for 3 years, seven months now and when I look back on all the major events, I can mentally point out where I had a valued impact on Whitepage's success. When you work at Whitepages, you have the opportunity have a lasting legacy that you can proudly look back on and grow from.

    Kontras

    Small companies tend to require stepping out of your normal role to take on more responsibility. The biggest challenge is managing your workload.

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-14
  4. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great company and fit for most”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Product in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Whitepages (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I’ve been fortunate to have had a career that has spanned the extremes of business from large corporations all the way to a family business. And, there are Pros and Cons to working in a large corporation as well as a family business. At a larger corporation, you can focus on developing a specific skill set, but you have less ownership and ability to impact the business. While at a family business, your sense of ownership is huge, and your decisions impact the business on a day-to-day basis. But, you're spread thin, and your responsibilities extend across the entire business. Depending on your personality and career goals one size company may better suit you than another. Whitepages sits in the middle - an established successful, evolving, and growing business with a startup feel. I’ve worked at Whitepages for more than 5 years and I can attest to the ever evolving business and product offerings to satisfy customer demands and needs. When I started, we had just released our first B2B product. Years later, there have been acquisitions, spin-offs, failed products, and new products released. But, most importantly, there has been continued success. Whitepages is far from a business on cruise control. Although, the business was established in 1997, every year brings new challenges and growth opportunities. Whitepages.com is a top website attracting millions of users every month with various needs and wants that are always evolving. Identifying and meeting these customer needs requires a team of high-talent engineers, marketers, product thinkers, operations professionals, leaders, and leadership. It’s a full team effort. If you’re looking for: - Ownership and the ability to impact the business immediately - Rolling up your sleeves and getting your hands dirty - Working for a smaller company and wearing multiple hats - Taking the lead, collaborating, and driving successful change - Creatively solving problems, growing, and building new products in the ever evolving technology industry - Leaving bureaucracy, drama, and ego at the door - Stepping up and proving what you can do Whitepages is the place for you whether you’re starting your career or hitting your stride. I’ve been fortunate to have held multiple job titles here at Whitepages, and I continue to expand and grow my career and talents.

    Kontras

    - It’s not a 9 to 5 job; it’s a small company with large ambitions - Not everyone thinks data is sexy - Everyday brings new challenges; you must be flexible and adapt - Taking risks and making big decisions is stressful - It takes work; success isn’t easy

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-13
  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Exciting place to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Whitepages (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Whitepages has about 30 employees, which means it is small enough that everyone knows what is going on. The culture set by management is great - employees are given authority, tools and responsibly to get things done. There is little or no "politics". The whole company emphases openness (regular all hands where financial & business results are shared) & collaboration (people work together to solve problems, often across different disciplines). There is plenty of opportunity to learn about new stuff. The overall feel is a bit like a startup (despite being 20+ years old), but just the good parts of a startup: freedom, responsibility, attitude, openness, clever people, work hard and get rewarded. The physical space is great and reflects the culture: open plan, sit/stand desks, no offices (even for the CEO) so everyone is accessible. But at the same time, it is a work environment, there is not too much noise. In one of the best locations in downtown Seattle with easy access to transit & lots of food trucks and restaurants.

    Kontras

    Whitepages has a good strategic vision and is not constantly changing direction (unlike some other "startup"-like companies), but sometimes these get interrupted to react to something that is happening in the marketplace. Benefits are very good, but can be communicated poorly (e.g. the "unlimited vacation" which is not truly unlimited).

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-08
  6. Hilfreich (5)

    „Short-term gig”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Whitepages gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Summarized: Exposure to technology and people. It's a smaller team, so there's a lot of exposure to the different types of technologies. Issues are handled quickly by the people on-call. Lots of interaction with both your teammates, and people in other groups.

    Kontras

    Summarized: Short-term gig. The learning curve levels off fairly quickly after a year. Not much of a code review since PMs are breathing down your neck, so no wonder there's a good handle on fixing production issues fast.

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-14

    Reaktion von Whitepages

    September 5, 2019CEO

    Me (Leigh, CEO) and the folks heading up Product appreciate your input and frankly, concur with some of the points you've expressed. Now that we are past the disruption associated with the spin-off of Ekata, we've been focused on a) bringing in senior engineering leadership, including a new VP of Engineering that we are very excited about, b) establishing a better partnership with Product and c) empowering engineers to drive solutions and timelines. We are tackling big projects - both near and long term including adopting AI, automating A/B testing and innovating on our data assets, giving engineers significant opportunities for ownership and career growth. Regarding communications, while we can absolutely still improve, I am endeavoring to be more in tune with questions, concerns and interests across the team and adjusting our company communications to try and address them, starting with engagement across the company in the long-term, post-spin off plan. Thanks again for the input.

    Weiterlesen
  7. Hilfreich (4)

    „Needs more experienced leadership”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Whitepages gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - A lot of different technologies (Python Flask, Scala, Rails, React Native) - Some nice perks like snacks and team outings - Cool people to work with

    Kontras

    * Ineffective 1:1’s: 1:1's should be a place for employees to express how they're feeling, what their goals are, and how management can actively help them achieve their goals. Instead, it was a time for management to reiterate team goals > individual goals. It was demoralizing and made career growth difficult. * Product & Engineering Imbalance: Many times, it felt like Product was in charge of Engineering. It should rather be a team effort where all opinions are listened to and discussed. * Bad use of bandwidth: Not using much bandwidth for tech debt or a deeper learning of each tech stack. Though I mentioned we have many technologies to work on, it's difficult to take time to have a deep understanding. In fact, to increase efficiency, teams were split into frontend & backend, which makes it easy to feel pigeon holed. * Unclear vision for the company: The business is definitely gaining money every month, but it's difficult to understand the acceleration. It's also difficult to understand where the execs see the company in 2-3 years (even in the next year). I was having a hard time being excited for the product. * Many repeat tasks: Because we pull to the left and get things done quickly, many bugs are introduced to the codebase. And the next several weeks are just fixing those small bugs. It gets frustrating for engineers to do the same thing several times & and have artificial deadlines. And I'm sure it's frustrating for PMs to not be able to move on to other marketing initiatives.

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-15
  8. Hilfreich (3)

    „not for the long haul”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Whitepages gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    You get to know everything, and able to handle production issues really quickly. Have exposure to all the technologies the company uses. Cool and interesting people. Compensation is good for a company this size. The company makes good profits.

    Kontras

    Career is stagnant after a while, little room for growth Constantly rewriting the same services, solving the same issues over and over. Culture is secretive, decisions made behind doors and not communicated well No clear vision for business growth No matter how good or important you are, you can get laid off out of the blue, sometimes on the morning right after you are back from vocation. Decent place to start, not long term Almost 100% turnover in engineering within 4 months definitely says something...

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-08-09

    Reaktion von Whitepages

    August 12, 2019CEO

    I (Leigh McMillan, CEO) fully respect your opinions and welcome your feedback. I do, however, disagree with some assertions made here and appreciate the opportunity to again walk through the points expressed. A) Career Growth. There are many opportunities to grow your career at Whitepages – and take on new projects and learn new technologies. We engage with all employees to understand their individual career objectives and proactively find opportunities to advance those objectives, enable folks to take on additional responsibilities, and move up. B) Investing for the Long-Term. This review started with the title, “Not for Long Haul.” Preparation for the long haul is precisely why, in addition to tackling new innovations, we upgrade existing systems to take advantage of new and better technology and languages. The engineering team identifies and prioritizes these engineering excellence projects – with a goal of more stability, fewer pain points and laying the foundation for future products and business growth. C) Business Vision and How Its Communicated. The vision for business growth, which includes improving our data asset to serve needs of consumers and small businesses, and our progress towards it, is discussed in the twice monthly all-hands meetings, many smaller team meetings and in quarterly reviews where we talk openly about the good and the bad. Can we continue to improve communications and engagement here? Absolutely, always and with input from everyone member of the team. But as indicated in many other Glassdoor reviews, we have had some success here. D) Personnel Decisions. These decisions are always difficult. Just as employees have a responsibility to find the best fit for themselves, company leadership has a responsibility to field the best team possible – meaning the right fit and skills needed to execute on the opportunity at hand. I believe that we (myself and the leadership team) were forthcoming and transparent about why the personnel decision you reference was made and I answered all questions that came my way. Whitepages, the B2C side of the business, was recently spun off from the B2B side of the business, now known as Ekata. With the spin-off, it was our responsibility to assess staffing and align needs with the new charter and technology. The impacted a member of the team was notified upon return from vacation and provided with a separation package to assist them through a transition to their next role, which they’ve landed. In my career, I’ve been on both sides of personnel conversations and have found that while difficult at the time, personnel changes, whether company or employee initiated, most often lead to a better fit and opportunity for the employee involved – and that is true in this case. As your career advances, you’ll certainly be making these tough decisions as well. At the end of the day, we have a healthy growing business with exciting opportunities and a compelling strategy. I also believe we have an open, diverse, transparent and collaborative culture and many opportunities to grow team members careers, whether here or in their next endeavor. The leadership team here is fully, absolutely committed to this. While I am sorry Whitepages wasn’t everything you personally wanted or agreed with, I believe strongly in the team and growth opportunities here. I truly hope you’ve found a better fit and exciting opportunity in your new role.

    Weiterlesen
  9. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great experience with Whitepages”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Recruiter in Seattle, WA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Whitepages als Vollzeit

    Pros

    -Strong culture fit for me -Hardworking people throughout the entire company -Passion, care, and interest in the work -Growth, the company is growing internationally -Lots of morale events, e.g. lunches, company trip, holiday gift, etc. -The Pro product proactively prevents fraudulent transactions at the enterprise level, it really does use "data for good" (one of the company's mottos)

    Kontras

    -The consumer product is useful and a long-standing money maker, but it makes information about people that they assume to be private, public. More documentation and advertisement should be made available to consumers regarding how their information is made available - that this is public information from multiple public databases and we've gathered it in to one place - that we don't have the power to delete it.

    Whitepages2019-01-21
  10. Hilfreich (6)

    „20 year old "startup"”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter 
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Whitepages (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - There are some smart passionate people who are very dedicated - Ability to make an impact a team or project - People are friendly and there are fun perks such as snacks, onsite massages, and annual company trip

    Kontras

    - Competing business units make it hard to get resources in the right place - Some favoritism in promotions and high achievers - Tries to act like a small startup in ways that hurts employees i.e. expects long hours, not remote-friendly, and not truly unlimited vacation time

    Weiterlesen
    Whitepages2019-01-18
123 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden